(or people uploading pictures of kids, and then wonder why their friends can see them)
Recently there has been some scaremongering and misinformation being passed on facebook.
Facebook has a system where a URL is generated if there is enough interest in a subject. When your browser asks facebook for this URL, facebook instantly pulls an article (usually Wikipedia) and displays it.
An example page (and the one that everyone is talking about) is:
Underneath there is a gallery which reads ‘Photos of my friends and New Borns’. You are the ONLY person that can see this gallery. For each person that views the page, it is different as they have different friends with different babies. The photos are still in the control of the people who post them. You will NOT see photos from people who are not your friends. You will NOT see photos that are not viewable to you.
Similarly, if you place photos of your children on facebook, they may show up on this page ONLY to your friends. Your photos are not shown to anybody other than your friends. If your album privacy is set so your friends cannot see them, then your friends will not see them underneath.
These have not been copied by facebook nor have they been uploaded by another person.
FACEBOOK NOR ANYBODY ELSE HAS BEEN POSTING YOUR KIDS PICTURES. Think about it… there would also be thousands of pictures of babies belonging to people you don’t know, wouldn’t there?
The biggest clue to this is the title ‘Photos of MY FRIENDS and NEWBORNS‘